This process should not be confused with a religious annulment, which can only be granted through your clergy. The parties to a divorce remain married until a final Judgment of Divorce is entered, resolving all of the issues in the divorce, and the court case is ordered to be closed. Whether you are facing an acrimonious or an amicable divorce, our divorce lawyers are here to help. The clerk's office will keep the parties and the lawyers informed throughout the process in regards to additional paperwork that is needed, further requirements, and hearing dates and times. Every divorce in Michigan has a 60-day waiting period, and a divorce with minor children has a 6-month waiting period. Divorce laws and courtroom procedures are complicated. The formula considers the child care and dependent health care coverage costs of each parent.
The decree, upon becoming final, shall have the same force and effect as a Quitclaim Deed of the real estate, if any, or a Bill of Sale of the personal property, if any, given by the party's spouse to the party. Ex Parte Orders can also be used to prevent the parties from dissipating assets, or compelling the parties to continue contributing to the maintenance of the marital home. The clerk or the clerk's assistants will be the people managing your paperwork with the court. We help you file for divorce and ensure the best possible outcome, while avoiding obstacles and costly litigation in the future. The Law Offices of Judith H.
A Summons and Complaint must be filed to begin a divorce. A local divorce lawyer can answer your questions and explain your options. Factors Considered by the Court In Michigan alimony is discretionary. First Street 734 451-1800 Plymouth - 342 South Harvey 734 451-1800 Novi - 42705 Grand River 248 374-1800 If you're like most people facing divorce, you have more questions than information. What are the grounds for divorce in Michigan? Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided. Your paperwork will meet the court requirements and you'll get detailed directions on how to submit your papers to the court. Any information you submit to us may not be protected by attorney-client privilege.
The Complaint must also state that the party filing the Complaint has lived in Michigan for 180 days and in the county in which they are filing for 10 days. The One Lawyer divorce process put our family in control of our goals and Mr. By helping her clients work through the individual issues as opposed to fighting it out in court , Mindy L. Once the opposing party receives notice of the pending case they have 21 or 28 days, depending on the method of service, to file an answer with the court. After the mandatory waiting periods, a final judgment of divorce can be entered when the parties reach agreement or after a trial by a judge. Our honest legal service and commitment to excellence have served our clients well, and you can rest assured that we can assist you in your time of need. If the court discovers it does not have jurisdictional rights to hear the case it will not be accepted or it will eventually be dismissed.
The information contained herein is not legal advice. Washtenaw County Circuit Court located at 101 E. A person who resides outside the state of Michigan can be summoned to a Michigan court for a divorce. This occurs in the family division of the circuit court in the county where they live. There are anywhere from ten to twenty other documents that may be required throughout the filing process. Dear Dennis, Thank you so much for your generous kindness, support, and care for my case! What typically happens if I go to court to obtain my divorce myself? The court may require the parent providing support to file a bond guaranteeing the support payments.
After a Summons is issued, you have 91 days to serve it upon your spouse, either personally or by registered mail. You may have questions regarding the Michigan divorce laws that apply to your case. In Michigan divorce and equitable distribution cases, Michigan family court judges have the power to order one spouse to pay the other spouse's attorneys' fees. A formula is used in establishing and modifying a child support amount and health care obligation. The choice of a lawyer is an important decision and should not be based solely upon advertisements. A few other documents that are typically filed during the process are: Summons, Verified Statement, Marital Settlement Agreement, Notice of Hearing, and Record of Divorce or Annulment.
At this stage, experts may also be retained to appraise real estate, the value of a family business or other valuable assets. These required time periods are a minimum and in some cases, depending on the complexity and the cooperation or non-cooperation of the parties, it can take longer to resolve the case and enter a final judgment. Macomb County Circuit Court in Michigan located at 40 N. Alimony Michigan is a no-fault divorce state; however, the fault of a party or basis for the breakdown of the marriage is a relevant factor in awarding spousal support, as alimony is now called in that jurisdiction. Our single concentration on divorce and other family law matters has allowed our attorneys to achieve that degree of knowledge, skill and confidence to handle any matter, regardless of how complex it may be. An annulment is a declaration that a marriage never took place.
A divorce will be granted regardless of the fault of either party. Your Guide to Get Organized and Put Everything in Writing. Related Article: Can I change my name at the time of divorce? Related Article: When can I file for divorce in Michigan? As an experienced Michigan divorce lawyer our job is to provide expert advice, and work diligently to protect your interests. This formula is contained in Michigan Compiled Laws Annotated, Section 552. I would highly recommend this ethical, honest, kind man to anyone looking for an amicable divorce. The Court Rules states that in the Answer the Defendant must either admit or deny each of the allegations in the Complaint. What is a divorce going to cost me? A divorce can be granted on the consent of the parties, or after a hearing in front of the judge.